Carcanet Press Logo
Quote of the Day
I'm filled with admiration for what you've achieved, and particularly for the hard work and the 'cottage industry' aspect of it.
Fleur Adcock

Complete Poems Vol II

Robert Graves

Edited by Patrick Quinn

Cover Picture of Complete Poems Vol II
10% off
Imprint: Carcanet Poetry
Publisher: Carcanet Press
Available as:
Hardback (352 pages)
(Pub. Oct 1997)
£40.00 £36.00
  • Description
  • Excerpt
  • Author
  • O love, be fed with apples while you may
    And feel the sun, and go in royal array,
    A smiling innocent on the heavenly causeway.
    Though in what listening horror for the cry
    That soars in outer blackness dismally,
    The dumb blind beast, the paranoiac fury,
    Be warm, enjoy the season, lift your head,
    Exquisite in the pulse of tainted blood,
    That shivering glory not to be despised.
    Take your delight in momentariness,
    Walk between dark and dark, a shining space
    With the grave's narrowness, though not its peace.

    from `Between Dark and Dark' (1929)

    In this second volume of the Complete Poems all of Robert Graves's work from 1927 to 1942 -- the Laura Riding Period, as series editor Patrick Quinn describes it in the Centenary Selected Poems -- is included. `The Cool Web', `Flying Crooked', `Down, Wanton, Down!', `Never Such Love', `Danegeld', `Parent to Children' and other favourite anthology pieces date from this rich period in which Robert Graves makes the astonishing transition from his early work and becomes incontestably one of the great lyric poets of the century.

    In 1995, the centenary of his birth, Carcanet launched an ambitious Robert Graves Programme which, in one decade, is intended bring into print all his major work. The series commenced appropriately with the poems.
    Robert Graves
    Robert Graves (1895-1985), poet, classical scholar, novelist, and critic, was one of the greatest writers of the 20th Century. Athough he produced over 100 books he is perhaps best known for the novel I, Claudius (1934), The White Goddess (1948) and Greek Myths (1955). Robert Graves was born in Wimbledon, South ... read more
    Patrick Quinn
    General Editor of the Robert Graves programme, Patrick Quinn is Professor of English Literature at University College Northampton. He is author of The Great War and Missing Muse: The Early Poetry of Robert Graves and Siegfried Sassoon, editor of Re-charting the Thirties, New Perspectives on Robert Graves, and The Dictionary of ... read more
Share this...
The Carcanet Blog Sleepers Awake: Oli Hazzard read more The Miraculous Season: V.R. 'Bunny' Lang, edited by Rosa Campbell read more Egg/Shell: Victoria Kennefick read more The Devil Prefers Mozart: Anthony Burgess read more Eleanor Among the Saints: Rachel Mann read more Sea-Fever: John Masefield read more
Find your local bookshop logo
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2024 Carcanet Press Ltd