Carcanet Press
Quote of the Day
Your list has always been interesting, idiosyncratic, imaginative and your translations [...] have been a source of pleasure to me.
Al Alvarez


Evelyn Schlag To Be Awarded Hay Festival Medal for Poetry 2018

Monday, 30 Apr 2018

No Text
Margaret Atwood, Evelyn Schlag and Jackie Morris have beennamed the recipients of this year’s Hay Festival Medals.

The medals, which have been awarded since 2012, as inspiredby the original Olympic medal given for poetry, will be awarded at the 31stedition in Wales (24th May to 3rd June) in Hay-on-Wye.

Austrian poet Evelyn Schlag will receive the Medal forPoetry for her contribution to the festival’s upcoming Armistice anthology. Tomark the centenary of the Armistice, Hay had commissioned writers from aroundthe world to respond to their country’s Great War poems with poetry of theirown.

Peter Florence, director of Hay Festival, said: “HayFestival Medals honour exceptional achievement, and this year we havre threeworld-class artists to honour in Margaret Atwood, Jackie Morris and EvelynSchlag. It’s a real pleasure to welcome them to Hay.”

No Text The Poetry Book Society Recommended Translation for Summer2018

In June we'll officially be publishing All Under One Roof,poems by Evelyn Schlag translated into English by Karen Leeder - though thebook is available to buy now.

The book draws on twosubstantial German-language collections, Sprache von einem anderenHolz (2008) and verlangsamte raserei (2014). There is also a new essay by the author in which she discusses the sources, politics and strategies ofher writing.

Evelyn Schlag (born 1952) grew up in Waidhofen an der Ybbs in Lower Austria. She studied German and English at the University of Vienna before becoming a teacher in Vienna and, later, in her home town of Waidhofen. She has published a wide range of poetry, prose and short stories since 1981 as well as translations (notably of Douglas Dunn) and essays. An English-language Selected Poems, translated by Karen Leeder, was published by Carcanet in 2004, and an English translation of her novel Die Kränkung (Quotations of a Body), translated by Willy Riemer, appeared in 1998. Schlag’s works have been greeted with much critical acclaim, and she has received many awards, including the 1988 Bremer Förderpreis, the 1997 Anton Wildgans Prize, and the Otto Stoessl Prize in 1998. She was Lecturer for Poetry at the Institut für Sprachkunst (2010/2011) and a Member of the Judging Panel for Dublin’s IMPAC Prize 2012. In 2012 she was selected to represent Austria in the Poetry Parnassus (held at the Southbank Centre, London). She is a member of the Graz Literary Academy. She was awarded the Austrian Art Prize for Literature in 2015.

Next Item
Share this...
The Carcanet Blog Jane Draycott and Jenny Lewis: Recalibrating the Classics read more W.S Graham: Lives & Letters read more Vahni Capildeo: Honouring the Water Dragon: A Walk in Shiga Prefecture read more Jane Draycott: Translating 'Pearl' read more Patrick Worsnip: A Journey Through Translation read more 'Morality Clauses' - PN Review read more
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2018 Carcanet Press Ltd