Carcanet Press Logo
Quote of the Day
an admirable concern to keep lines open to writing in Ireland, Scotland, Wales and America.
Seamus Heaney


Louise Gluck wins the Nobel Prize for Literature 2020

Thursday, 8 Oct 2020

No Text We are overjoyed to announce that Louise Gluck has won the Nobel Prize for Literature 2020!

Announced on the 8th October 2020 in a conference, the statement praised Louise Glück “for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal.”

We have been Louise's UK publisher since The Wild Iris, published in 1996 through to Faithful and Virtuous Night in 2014.

Gluck is the first American writer to win the Nobel prize for literature in 27 year, and is the 16th woman to win the Nobel, and the first American since Toni Morrison took the prize in 1993.

Louise Glűck, born in 1943, was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1993 for her collection The Wild Iris. She has published eleven books of poetry and a book of essays on poetry, Proofs and Theories (1994). She teaches at Yale University as Writer in Residence and in the Creative Writing Program of Boston University. She was appointed the US Poet Laureate from 2003–2004.

No Text

Previous Item Next Item
Share this...
The Carcanet Blog Parwana Fayyaz: NPVIII: Meet the Contributor read more New Poetries VIII: Sinad Morrissey on Conor Cleary read more The Earliest Witnesses: G.C. Waldrep read more Conor Cleary: NPVIII: Meet the Contributor read more New Poetries VIII: Tara Bergin on Suzannah V. Evans read more Suzannah V. Evans: NPVIII: Meet the Contributor read more
Find your local bookshop logo
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2021 Carcanet Press Ltd