Carcanet Press Logo
Quote of the Day
an admirable concern to keep lines open to writing in Ireland, Scotland, Wales and America.
Seamus Heaney

The Feeling Sonnets

Eugene Ostashevsky

Categories: 21st Century, Russia, Translation
Imprint: Carcanet Poetry
Publisher: Carcanet Press
Available as:
Paperback (96 pages)
(Due Jul 2022)
£11.99 £10.79
  • Description
  • Author
  • Gwyneth Lewis writes, 'Eugene Ostashevsky is a multilingual language explorer. His The Feeling Sonnets are an exhilarating and witty enquiry into the designs that language has on us as intellectual, domestic and historical beings. This is poetry as punning philosophy, both entertaining and deeply serious. This book is a tour de force, turning languages' spotlights onto speech itself. Yet again, Carcanet is publishing important poetry.'

    Born in Leningrad, Ostashevsky grew up in Brooklyn. He is now based in Berlin and New York. In his last full book of poetry, The Pirate Who Does Not Know the Value of Pi, migration, translation, and second-language writing as practiced by pirates and parrots. His previous book, The Life and Opinions of DJ Spinoza, examines the defects of natural and artificial languages.

    The Feeling Sonnets are written in an English that is translingual not only because it engages other languages but also because it reflects upon itself in uncertainty as if it were the work of a language learner. Words, idioms, sentences, poetic conventions are made strange, dislocated, recontextualised to convey some of the linguistic effects of the migration experience, the experience of non-nativeness. The book includes four cycles of fourteen unrhymed, unmetered, logically Petrarchan sonnets. The first cycle asks about the relationship between interpretation and emotion: whether ‘we feel the feelings that we call ours’. The second, mainly composed of ‘daughter sonnets’, describes bringing up children in a foreign language. The third, ‘Die Schreibblockade’, German for writer’s block, talks about foreign-language processing of inherited historical trauma. The fourth cycle is about translation. A libretto commissioned by Italian composer Lucia Ronchetti follows, about Ravel’s interaction with Paul Wittgenstein over the Piano Concerto for the Left Hand.
    Eugene Ostashevsky is a Russian-born American poet and translator. He was born in Leningrad, grew up in Brooklyn and is now based in Berlin and New York. His last full book of poetry, The Pirate Who Does Not Know the Value of Pi, was translated into German and won the ... read more
Share this...
The Carcanet Blog Some Interpretation: Padraig Regan read more PN Review 262: Editorial read more Rowan Williams: Collected Poems read more John F. Deane: Naming of the Bones read more Vahni Capildeo: Places of Writing read more Jenny Lewis Responds to a Commission for a Poem Against Climate Change for COP26 read more
Find your local bookshop logo
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2022 Carcanet Press Ltd