Carcanet Press Logo
Quote of the Day
I'm filled with admiration for what you've achieved, and particularly for the hard work and the 'cottage industry' aspect of it.
Fleur Adcock

The First Five Books of Poems

Louise Glück

Cover Picture of The First Five Books of Poems
10% off
Categories: 20th Century, American, Women
Imprint: Carcanet Poetry
Publisher: Carcanet Press
Available as:
Paperback (244 pages)
(Pub. May 1997)
£18.95 £17.05
  • Description
  • Excerpt
  • Author
  • Awards
  • Reviews
  • Embracing in the road
    for some reason I no longer remember
    and then drawing apart, seeing
    that shape ahead -- how close was it?
    We looked up to where the hawk
    hovered with its kill; I watched them
    veering toward West Hill, casting
    their one shadow in the dirt, the all-inclusive
    shape of the predator --
    Then they disappeared. And I thought:
    one shadow. Like the one we made,
    you holding me.

                                                'Hawk's Shadow'

    Recipient of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2020

    In an essay Louise Gluck says that every end of a book is for her a 'conscious diagnostic act, a swearing off', in which she discerns the themes, habits and preoccupations of the previous volume as defining the tasks of the next.

    The First Five Books of Poems shows the poet in the conscious evolution she describes, marking time in changes. Readers will hear specifics of sequence: where the ferocious tension of her first book moves towards the finely-spun lyricism of the second. The nouns of that book acquire more intimate weight and become the icons of her third collection, then rise to an archetypal, mythic scale in the fourth. These poems are as various as the force of Gluck's intelligence is constant. The austerely beautiful voice that has become Gluck's' keynote speaks of a life lived in unflinching awareness.

    'She is a poet of enormous importance and intelligence,' wrote Bernard O'Donoghue in the Independent; 'we must not miss her.'

    The First Five Books of Poems includes Firstborn (1968), The House on Marshland (1975), Descending Figure (1980), The Triumph of Achilles (1985) and Ararat (1990).

    Louise Glűck is the author of twelve books of poems and two collections of essays. She received the 2020 Nobel Prize in Literature "for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal." Her other awards include the National Humanities Medal, the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award, ... read more
    Awards won by Louise Glück Short-listed, 2014 Forward Prize for Best Collection (Faithful and Virtuous Night) Short-listed, 2014 T. S. Eliot Prize (Faithful and Virtuous Night) Winner, 1993 Pulitzer Prize (The Wild Iris)
    Praise for Louise Glück 'Gluck's essays are delicate, tactful, self-aware and wry; her sense of humour is so understated that you might miss it if you think of her solely as a poet of tenacity and autumnal smokiness... Reading American Originality alongside her first essay collection, Proofs and Theories (1994), a portrait emerges of a wilful, embattled child who earned her stern serenity not only through loss but also through that miraculous state of grace that poetry can provide'

    Ange Mlinko, Literary Review

    'In this collection of sharply focussed and insightful essays one unifying theme emerges. Despite all the fads and fashions, the dead ends and new waves of poetry one thing survives, and that as she so vividly reminds us, is poetry'

    Roger Bloor, The Alchemy Spoon

    'Her writing's emotional and rhetorical intensity are beyond dispute. Not once in six books has she wavered from a formal seriousness, an unhurried sense of control and a starkness of expression that, like a scalpel, slices the mist dwelling between hope and pain.'
    Washington Post
    'Gluck stands at the centre of time and speaks, not with raw emotion or linguistic abandon, but with the ageless urgency of questions about the soul.'
    Partisan Review
    'Characteristically sure-footed, Glück speaks to our time in a voice that is onstage, but heard from the wings.'
    Publishers Weekly
Share this...
The Carcanet Blog And a dog called Husband: Inuit creation stories read more Thinking with Trees: A book about leisure, Black bodies, and time read more B (After Dante): Ned Denny read more Alex Wong: Shadow and Refrain read more Jenny King: Moving Day read more Iain Crichton Smiths New Music: John Greening read more
Find your local bookshop logo
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2021 Carcanet Press Ltd