Carcanet Press Logo
Quote of the Day
Carcanet has always been the place to look for considerations of purely literary and intellectual merit. Its list relies on the vision and the faith and the energy of people who care about books, and values. It is thus as rare as it is invaluable.
Frederic Raphael

Lucie Brock-Broido

No Text
Books by this author: Soul Keeping Company
  • About
  • Reviews
  • Lucie Brock-Broido is the author of three collections of poetry, A Hunger, The Master Letters and Trouble in Mind (all published by Alfred A. Knopf, New York). In 2008 she published Letters to a Stranger: The Collected Poems of Thomas James with Graywolf Press in the US. She is Director of Poetry in the School of the Arts at Columbia University and has taught previously at Harvard University, the Bennington Writing Seminars and Princeton University. She has been the recipient of awards from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts and the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She lives in New York City and in Cambridge, Massachusetts.
    Praise for Lucie Brock-Broido    'This is a poet who cultivates elegant nerviness and a riveting poetic clairvoyance... In Trouble in Mind we witness the imagination's virtuosity... distilled in the alembic of the poet's radical, brilliantly inventive diction.'
    Los Angeles Times Book Review

      'Brock-Broido's talismanic words open into a magical territory of 'Domestic Mysticism'...Something in Brock-Broido likes stealth, toxicity, wildness, neon... The poems leap off the page.'
    Helen Vendler, The New Yorker
    'A true original, Brock-Broido renews the language on every page, surely the essential work of the poet.'
    John Burnside
Share this...
The Carcanet Blog Colm Tibn: NPVIII: Meet the Contributor read more New Poetries VIII: Judith Willson on Rebecca Hurst read more Apocalypse: James Keery read more Rebecca Hurst: NPVIII: Meet the Contributor read more New Poetries VIII: Joey Connolly on Hal Coase read more Hal Coase: NPVIII: Meet the Contributor read more
Find your local bookshop logo
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2020 Carcanet Press Ltd