Carcanet Press
Quote of the Day
Devotedly, unostentatiously, Carcanet has evolved into a poetry publisher whose independence of mind and largeness of heart have made everyone who cares about literature feel increasingly admiring and grateful.
Andrew Motion

Nasos Vayenas

Books by this author: The Perfect Order
  • About
  • Awards
  • Nasos Vayenas was awarded the Greek National Poetry Prize in 2005. He was born in 1945 in the northern Greek town of Drama, and studied at the universities of Athens, Rome, Essex and Cambridge, where he wrote his acclaimed thesis on George Seferis, published in Greek in 1979. Since 1992 he has been Professor of Literary Theory and Criticism at the University of Athens, where he lives.


    As well as his eleven collections of poetry, he is the author of a number of critical books and works on literary theory. He has also edited the anthology Conversing with Cavafy (2000).

    Awards won by Nasos Vayenas Winner, 2005 Greek National Poetry Prize
Share this...
The Carcanet Blog New Poetries VII: Out Next Week! read more New Poetries VII: Zohar Atkins read more New Poetries VII: Rebecca Cullen read more New Poetries VII: Luke Allan read more New Poetries VII: Vala Thorodds read more New Poetries VII: Neil Fleming read more
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2018 Carcanet Press Ltd