Carcanet Press Logo
Quote of the Day
It is impossible to imagine literary life in Britain without Carcanet.
William Boyd

Forward Prizes Readings: Southbank Centre

Sunday 20 Oct 2019, 19:00 to 20:30

Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road


The best poetry being published in the British Isles today is recognised at this ceremony, hosted by jury chair Shahidha Bari and poet Andrew McMillan.

Featuring readings from the 15 shortlisted poets, the Forward Prizes rank among the year's great literary celebrations.

This year's judges, Shahidha Bari, Jamie Andrews, Tara Bergin, Andrew McMillan and Carol Rumens, read over 200 poetry collections and 180 single poems to find the most exciting poetry published across the UK and Ireland.

The prize shortlists are as follows:

The Forward Prize for Best Collection
Deaf Republic by Ilya Kaminsky (Faber & Faber)
The Million-Petalled Flower of Being Here by Vidyan Ravinthiran (Bloodaxe Books)
Noctuary by Niall Campbell (Bloodaxe Books)
Vertigo & Ghost by Fiona Benson (Cape)

Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection
If All the World and Love Were Young by Stephen Sexton (Penguin Books)
The Perseverance by Raymond Antrobus (Penned in the Margins)
Surge by Jay Bernard (Chatto & Windus)
Truth Street by David Cain (Smokestack Books)

The Forward Prize for Best Single Poem
Bridge by Jonathan Edwards (The Frogmore Papers)
Comic Timing by Holly Pester (Granta Magazine)
Highbury Park by Liz Berry (Wild Court)
The Window by Mary Jean Chan (The National Poetry Competition by the Poetry Society)

Tickets are £15 and can be bought here.  

Share this...
The Carcanet Blog Looking for Tenderfoot: Chris Beckett read more Hayden Murphy: On Edwin Morgan read more Rebecca Watts: Red Gloves Interview read more Theo Kwek: Moving House read more Robyn Marsack: Fifty Fifty read more Adam Crothers: The Culture of My Stuff Interview read more
Find your local bookshop logo
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2020 Carcanet Press Ltd