Carcanet Press Logo
Quote of the Day
an admirable concern to keep lines open to writing in Ireland, Scotland, Wales and America.
Seamus Heaney

T.S Eliot Prize Readings

Sunday 13 Jan 2019, 19:00 to 21:00

Royal Festival Hall
Southbank Centre, Belvedere Road
United Kingdom


Hear the poets shortlisted for the TS Eliot Prize reading from their own work, on the eve of the award ceremony and the announcement of the winner.

Hosted by poet Ian McMillan, this is the first major highlight of the 2019 literary calendar.

The TS Eliot Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best new poetry collection published in the UK or Ireland in the calendar year.

It is judged by a panel of established poets who this year comprise Sinéad Morrissey (Chair), Daljit Nagra and Clare Pollard and has been described by former Poet Laureate Sir Andrew Motion as the Prize most poets want to win.

All ten poets chosen by the judges have been confirmed to read at the TS Eliot Prize Readings: Ailbhe Darcy, Terrance Hayes, Zaffar Kunial, Nick Laird, Fiona Moore, Sean O'Brien, Phoebe Power, Richard Scott, Tracy K Smith and Hannah Sullivan. For the first time, the shortlist includes five debut collections.

The Prize was inaugurated in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society's 40th birthday and to honour its founding poet, and is now awarded by the T S Eliot Foundation.

Tickets are £12/£15 and can be bought through the Southbank Centre website.

Share this...
The Carcanet Blog PN Review 247: Editorial read more Jenny Lewis: Recording Gilgamesh read more Closet System: Rowland Bagnall read more Les's Portrait Head: Jonathan Hirschfeld read more Dollhouse on Fire: Sheri Benning read more Rebecca Goss on Alison Watt read more
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2019 Carcanet Press Ltd