Carcanet Press
Quote of the Day
Congratulations to Carcanet for paying equal attention to new poets and to modern classics. The Collected H.D., Mina Loy, William Carlos Williams, and Yvor Winters are all essential books, and Carcanet is doing a public service keeping them in print.
Thom Gunn


Gillian Clarke wins Wilfred Owen Poetry Award

Wednesday, 21 Mar 2012

Gillian Clarke The prestigious Wilfred Owen Poetry Award for 2012 has been given to Gillian Clarke, the first woman to receive the honour. The award ceremony will take place as close as possible to Remembrance Day 2012. The award is presented biennially to a poet for a sustained body of work that includes memorable war poems: the 2010 recipient was Jon Stallworthy, also published by Carcanet. To find out more about the award, please go to the website of the Wilfred Owen Association.

Already the National Poet of Wales and the recipient of the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry in 2010, Gillian Clarke is a poet, playwright, editor, broadcaster, lecturer and translator (from Welsh). Her latest collection of poems, Ice, will be published by Carcanet in October. You can find out more about her on her Carcanet page, where you can also order her books directly from Carcanet with a 10% discount and free UK delivery.

Next Item
Share this...
The Carcanet Blog Manchester Pride Weekend read more Carcanet at the Edinburgh Book Festival 2014 read more Stallworthy's War Poet and 25% off selected Carcanet war poetry titles read more Spotlight on the Author: An Interview with Kei Miller read more Save the date! A summer of events from Carcanet read more Significant Soil: John Greening reflects on the origins of To the War Poets read more
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2014 Carcanet Press Ltd