Carcanet Press
Quote of the Day
Devotedly, unostentatiously, Carcanet has evolved into a poetry publisher whose independence of mind and largeness of heart have made everyone who cares about literature feel increasingly admiring and grateful.
Andrew Motion


Tara Bergin & David Wheatley shortlisted for the Irish Times Poetry Now Award

Monday, 5 Feb 2018

No Text We're delighted to announce that Tara Bergin's The Tragic Death of Eleanor Marx and David Wheatley's The President of Planet Earth have both been shortlisted for the 2018 Irish Times Poetry Now Award!

The other three shortlisted books include The Radio by Leontia Flynn (Cape Poetry), Live Streaming by Conor O’Callaghan (Gallery Press) and Bindweed by Mark Roper (Dedalus Press).

The winner of the annual €2,000 prize will be announced at the Mountains to Sea Poetry Now festival in the Lexicon, Dun Laoghaire on March 24th.

Tara was previously shortlisted for the award in 2015 for her debut collection This Is Yarrow. Previous winners have included Seamus Heaney, Derek Mahon, Michael Longley, Harry Clifton, Sinead Morrissey, Dennis O’Driscoll, Theo Dorgan, Caitriona O’Reilly and last year’s recipient, Paddy Bushe.

This year’s judges are Professor Fran Brearton of Queen’s University Belfast and author of The Great War in Irish Poetry; John McAuliffe who teaches in Manchester University and is this newspaper’s regular poetry reviewer, and Gerard Smyth, Irish Times Poetry Editor and a former managing editor of the newspaper.

Congratulations Tara and David!

No Text

Previous Item Next Item
Share this...
The Carcanet Blog New Poetries VII: Toby Litt read more New Poetries VII: Phoebe Power read more New Poetries VII: Isabel Galleymore read more New Poetries VII: Jamie Osborn read more New Poetries VII: James Leo McAskill read more New Poetries VII: Andrew Wynn Owen read more
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2018 Carcanet Press Ltd