Carcanet Press
Quote of the Day
Carcanet has always been the place to look for considerations of purely literary and intellectual merit. Its list relies on the vision and the faith and the energy of people who care about books, and values. It is thus as rare as it is invaluable.
Frederic Raphael

Marilyn Hacker

  • About
  • Gallery
  • Marilyn Hacker was born in New York City in 1942. She is the author of several books including Essays on Departure (Carcanet, 2006) and the following books of poetry, First Cities: Collected Early Poems 1960-1979 (2003); Squares and Courtyards (2000); Winter Numbers (1994), which won the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize and a Lambda Literary Award; Selected Poems 1965-1990 (1994), which received the Poets' Prize; Love, Death, and the Changing of the Seasons (1986); Assumptions (1985); Taking Notice (1980); Going Back to the River (1990), for which she received a Lambda Literary Award; Separations (1976); and Presentation Piece (1974), which was the Lamont Poetry Selection of The Academy of American Poets and a National Book Award winner. She also translated Venus Khoury-Ghata's poetry, notably the award-winning Alphabets of Sand (Carcanet, 2009) and also published in She Says (2003) and Here There Was Once a Country (2001).

    Hacker was editor of The Kenyon Review from 1990 to 1994, and has received numerous honours, including the American PEN Voelcker Award, 2010 (for a mid-career poet), the American PEN Award for Poetry in Translation (2009) for Marie Etienne's King of a Hundred Horsemen, the American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature (2004), the Poets' Prize 1996 for Selected Poems, and the Lenore Marshall Award of the Academy of American Poets (1995) for Winter Numbers. She lives in Paris.

    Marilyn has contributed to the Carcanet Blog: click here to read her two-part Letter from Paris.

Share this...
The Carcanet Blog 50 years after the death of Vernon Watkins read more Nadine Gordimer Memorial Lecture read more ILL FARES THE LAND read more Between Survival and Extinction read more Promoting poetry through public engagement read more The Acquaintance of a True Dustie-Fute read more
Arts Council Logo
We thank the Arts Council England for their support and assistance in this interactive Project.
This website ©2000-2017 Carcanet Press Ltd